Daily Prompt: Abide

frosted_leaf.jpg

Abide

And there were in the same country
shepherds abiding in the field,
keeping watch over their flock by night.

Luke 2: 8

*
towards
the shortest day
of the year
Light
in my heart

*
slow travel
boat with lights
in the distance

*
Abide in me, and I in you.
As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself,
except it abide in the vine;
no more can ye,
except ye abide in me.

John 15: 4

Abide

Images: “frosted leaf” and “ice crystals” are courtesy of wpclipart.com.
Poems: Ellen Grace Olinger
Bible verses: King James Version

ice_crystals.jpg

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Abide

  1. Carol Purington

    Hi Ellen,

    I love this post, love the word abide, love these verses. Thank you! And I also was especially comforted by words in a recent post about your years of caring for your mother. I know the story that needed to rehear it.

    My mother was hospitalized in November, perhaps for thyroid and a touch of pneumonia. She is better now, thanks be to God, and seems to enjoy peaceful days sitting and reading. Before the hospitalization she would be in and out of my room, doing things for me and visited, from 7:30 AM to 8 PM. It was time for her to “retire,” as she puts it, and I’m so thankful it happened in this gentle way. But I do miss her companionship, as you can well understand.

    We are planning a quiet Christmas, for lots of reasons. I haven’t decided yet whether I will do any cards or letters. But you and I communicate often enough through the year so you know that I’m still here!

    With warmest wishes for Christmas Joy!

    Carol

    Like

Comments are closed.