Daily Prompt: Vanish

Vanish – This is a post of gratitude.  Years ago, my career was followed by illness, and then several years of helping with my mother’s care.  I believe that my experience with new health needs helped me better understand my mother’s older years.  I could not keep pace with people my age, and this time with my mother was good for both of us.  I cooked good meals, and we sat and watched the news and movies.

I subscribed to journals, but was not always able to read them, or write new poems.  I lost touch with some good friends.  Then some of us got back in touch. The years when I seemed to be away blessed me greatly as well.  I also changed my life to adapt to new family and health needs.  My life grew in different ways than I had planned, and more and more, I see God’s plan.

We all have special gifts to share.  The expression may change, and we may discover new ways of being creative.  More and more, I trust that when I read and rest, something new will grow at the right time.

*

new growth
on evergreens
dinner with old friends

SMILE, 2010
This large print journal was edited and published by Joyce M. Johnson for years.

*

January thaw . . .
letting go
of old heartaches

Published in A Splash of Water: Haiku Society of America 2015 Members’ Anthology, edited by Catherine J.S. Lee.

*

Ellen Grace Olinger