Discover Challenge – Obstacles

100_5531

The Discover Challenge this week is Obstacles.

Over the years, and through different goals and life chapters, my creative process has varied a lot.

I can surely say that limitations and structure have made my work stronger.

And I always feel like I am just beginning to learn.

Some projects were easier and have worked out well, some are not yet finished, and some were very hard – yet worked out well with more time and revisions.  Support from good editors is greatly appreciated.

100_5658I am not writing a lot now, and am grateful for photography.  I also enjoy arranging flowers. Reading is a big part of my life.  Over the years, I’ve read many books about creativity.  I am ever-interested and appreciate authors who share about their process.  Rest is also important for all of us, and my life had to change after a chronic illness.  The schedule I kept “once upon a time” is not an option.

So often it seems artists have had to overcome obstacles, in some way, and somehow their art is enriched.  Mercy and grace.  I hope to write more about this in the future.

Everyone has a story.

*

writing an essay
all I deleted
to say what I mean

*

feeling new poems
fallow fields
waking up

(Time Of Singing, 2000)

*

100_5553

 

 

 

 

Ellen Grace Olinger

100_5644

(post updated on April 30, 2016)

One thought on “Discover Challenge – Obstacles

  1. Pingback: daily prompt – Solitude – Haiku Prayers – Poetry And Other Art

Comments are closed.