language arts

The Discover Challenge this week is Identity.  For a long time, I’ve been inspired by, “In the beginning was the Word . . .” (from John 1).  Language always seems a miracle to me:  that we can create and share.  Learn from print, viewing art, and listening.

From meeting professional goals, to illness and recovery, being a caregiver for my mother, volunteer work, and other challenges, the language arts have been and are present.  They help me integrate many aspects of life into new wholes.  This surely takes time, and my growth process is not always even.  Often I relearn old lessons in new ways, as life changes too.

When my mother could no longer read, I read to her.  We kept her books, newspapers etc. in her world.  We helped her hold on to her gifts and identity.  I look at books in this room, as I type, and they are good friends.

Sometimes the form needs to change, yet the Word continues to bless me.

I share more in a series edited by Curtis Dunlap, at Blogging Along Tobacco Road.  My responses may be read at Ellen Olinger – Three Questions.