About Three Years

I began this site, Haiku Prayers, about three years ago; on April 30, 2012My purpose was to create a small place to practice, and perhaps a place of contemplation for others.  The blog has grown in many different ways, all good ways.

Now I’m going to return to my original purpose, and simply practice writing what I see.  For example, this today:

they ask to be
in this poem
daffodils

* * *
My primary blog, Poems From Oostburg, Wisconsin, is a collage of many posts now.  I have likes, comments for recent posts, likes for the comments, etc.   No changes there!

I don’t think of myself as a “haiku poet” in any academic way.  My career was in special education.  I continue to be grateful to The Haiku Foundation, and Jim Kacian as editor, for the opportunity to use my teaching skills again.  I also enjoy the Members Anthologies at the Haiku Society of America.

And I read many good journals and books!  My life went in a different direction for a time, with health needs and the good caregiving years with my mother.  Somehow roots grew deeper during those times, and I can only be grateful now, in my 60s.

Blessings and thank you,

Ellen Grace Olinger