grandmothers

big-pink-rose

Yesterday was our first snowfall.  The snow rests on beach grasses, the lawn, and on the leaves of lilac and rose bushes.  The sunrise is a gentle palette of pastel colors, blue and pink.

I’ve always lived in the Midwest, USA.  I’m farther north than where I grew up, and the landscape speaks to my soul.  My father’s parents came here from Sweden, Nanna and Poppa Ernie.  Sometimes when I see pictures on blogs from Sweden, I feel homesick, though I’ve never been there.  Christmas was always a lot about Nanna.  My mother’s German mother, Grace, died exactly a year before I was born.  I feel as though I know Grace now, as I feel my art is from her in many ways.

peace-goodwill

Blessings, Ellen

The pictures are courtesy of antiqueclipart.com.

Posted in Uncategorized