Some Time To Review

These days I’m taking some time to review my poetry.  Many times, I remember the emotions I felt when writing a haiku, along with seeing that the poem may need more work.  That is fine.  I love the creative process.

Here, though, are five haiku that I feel are some of my best so far, and that relate to the theme of this blog.

 

cup of coffee
by the water
this day to God

* * *

January thaw . . .
letting go
of old heartaches

* * *

Deep calls to deep *
filling my heart with peace

greater than my mind

* Psalm 42: 7 (TNIV)

* * *

Wisconsin spring
sandhill cranes
in a field of snow

* * *

where once
I mourned
irises

* * *

“Wisconsin spring” was accepted for publication in The Haiku Society of America 2013 Members Anthology; Carolyn Coit Dancy, Editor.

* * *

Thank you, Ellen