“the tip of the iceberg”

Amaryllis

I read different devotionals here and there, usually not in sequence with the calendar.  Today I read a little in Jesus Calling, by Sarah Young (published by Thomas Nelson in 2004; author copyright).

With the Lake Michigan icebergs outside my window, these words from her December 12 page return to mind now.  Sarah Young writes here from God’s perspective and includes Biblical references at the end of each page.  Here’s the quote:  “What you know of the world you inhabit is only the tip of the iceberg.  Submerged beneath the surface of the visible world are mysteries too vast for you to comprehend.  If you could only see how close I am to you and how constantly I work on your behalf, you would never again doubt that I am wonderfully caring for you  . . .”  She cites Romans 8: 28 (AMP); Job 42: 1-3; I Peter 5: 7; 2 Corinthians 5:7.

When I was younger, I read a lot of theology.  In my forties, though, with health concerns and the passings of loved ones, my faith became more devotional–strength for one thing at a time.

I began with haiku when I was 39 and found the short forms to be possible during challenging times too.  Now it is 20 years later.  So grateful,

What a gift when we can connect with a few words and also know, at the same time, we can never truly understand or achieve any form of art. One day a challenge, another day a comfort.

While I will always miss some people and times from earlier years, I am someone who needed time, and so like growing older very much.  And March begins on Friday, and soon spring . . .

Blessings, on this very beautiful snowy day from Wisconsin, Ellen

Image: wpclipart.com.