Luci Shaw – a favorite artist

Luci Shaw is a favorite writer.  I have many of her books, both poetry and prose.  She is also a photographer. Today I am remembering Breath for the Bones, Art, Imagination, and Spirit (Thomas Nelson, 2007).

Nature is important to Luci Shaw.  As a young poet, I was captivated by the title of an early book of hers, Listen To The Green. 

This quote is from Breath for the Bones (page 186):

“Both faith and art exist because things contain and mediate meaning: it seems impossible to name anything that is simply random or incidental. As we experience the cause and effect of answers to prayer, a pattern becomes observable.”

Many things are a mystery to me, but now that I am growing older, I see patterns and answers in my life.  I am a slow learner but peace arrives in time.  Another topic:  rest is essential to resilience for me.  If I could live my life so far over, I would get more rest!

Luci Shaw’s book, God In The Dark, is a classic about illness and grief.  Luci Shaw’s first husband, Harold Shaw, died from cancer, many years ago now.  Her work is honest and true.  Her faith is deep, and she continues to write, ask hard questions, and learn.  Her latest book of poems is Harvesting Fog. 

Information about these books and their publishers is available at her website.  http://www.lucishaw.com.